Back to Previous

Lowcountry COG


Stephanie Rossi

Planning Director

Dr. Maleena Parkey

Principal Planner

p: (843) 473-3987


Established in 1971, the Lowcountry Council of Governments (often referred to as LCOG) is a public agency that serves the four-county area of Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton, and Jasper. As part of the LCOG™s mission, the agency is an advocate for regionalism and a connection between those local governments and certain state and federal agencies. Organizationally, the LCOG resembles a public-sector consulting firm, serving as a resource for twenty-five local governments. The LCOG is governed by a thirty-two member board of directors appointed by participating local county and municipal governments. The agency operates a number of regional programs categorized into four broad areas including community and economic development, workforce development, planning, and aging. While the LCOG has no taxing authority, it receives annual dues from each county and a state appropriation, both based on population. This seed money is leveraged into an annual budget of more than $6 million through federal, state and local contracts for service and programs such as Area-wide Water Quality Management, Workforce Investment Act, grants development and administration, SCDOT multi-modal transportation planning, EDA revolving loan fund, and HUD affordable housing.